Exploring Veggies – Butternut Squash

Happy Monday everyone!

I am so excited to share with you today’s veggie – Butternut Squash. There are lots of squashes out there, and they often have similar characteristics and nutrition qualities, but we will focus specifically on the delicious Butternut Squash.

Butternut Squash – What is it?

Butternut Squash

Butternut Squash

– a winter squash that is available year-round

– similar in taste to pumpkin

Why do I want it?

– good source of Beta-carotene, Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Vitamin A and C

– very versatile

– great for one of baby’s first foods

-can be used in sweet or savoury dishes

– very low in calories

– seeds can be roasted and eaten as a snack, or garnish on salads

 

Vegan Butternut Squash Mac and Cheeze

So, this recipe, taken from ohsheglows.com, turned out to be delicious. I made a little mistake with this though. I increased the amount of pasta used, without increasing the cheeze sauce. Also, mine was slightly less vegan because I did add some shredded marble cheese for an added stringiness. It was so yummy!

Butternut Mac n' Cheeze

Butternut Mac n’ Cheeze

Even though mine turned out a little dry, it was still awesome. I added spinach and some breadcrumbs to mine. While my dad did not approve, my hubby, my mother in law, my mom and my son all enjoyed it, so I’ll call this one a win :). This was all that was left of it…again, I forgot to take pictures of the whole process, but I also don’t want to take away from Angela’s amazing work, so I highly recommend you check out the recipe on her site. Truly amazing.

 

Butternut squash is also amazing in smoothies (add some pumpkin spice, vanilla, almond milk and you’ve got yourself an awesome fall smoothie).

 

So go out there and enjoy some squash! What are some of your favourite squash recipes?

 

 

Leave a comment